Fascinating Facts of Amavasya

Amavasya, which is the evening of the first day of the first lunar quarter, is the name given to the new moon night in the Hindu religion. Amavasya is also referred to as "no moon night" because the moon is not visible during this time. Amavasya, commonly referred to as No Moon Day or New Moon Day, is a significant Hindu calendar tithi. Ama

Continue ReadingFascinating Facts of Amavasya

Goddess Padmavati Devi: the most celebrated form of Goddess Lakshmi

Goddess Padmavati Devi: the most celebrated form of Goddess Lakshmi Hinduism revolves around the holy trinity- Lord Brahma (the creator), Lord Vishnu (the preserver), and Lord Shiva (the destroyer). These three and their respective partners; Goddess Saraswati, Goddess Lakshmi, and Goddess Parvati are believed to restore the cosmic balance. They are manifested and venerated under different incarnations, forms, and avatars. Goddess Lakshmi among these deities is the goddess of power, wealth, and fortune. She is the consort of Lord Vishnu, and one of her most widely known avatars is that of Goddess Padmavati.

Continue ReadingGoddess Padmavati Devi: the most celebrated form of Goddess Lakshmi

Ganga Saptami: The Day To Honour Goddess Ganga

According to Hindu mythology, Lord Mahadev (Shiva) carried the great Ganga in his Jata (long tresses or hairs) to break its descent and prevent it from sweeping the entire world away. For Maa Ganga to complete her task of purging Bhagiratha's ancestors' cursed souls, Lord Mahadev later liberated her.

Continue ReadingGanga Saptami: The Day To Honour Goddess Ganga

The Hindu Calendar: Your Reference Guide, Panchang

Panchang is a term which means Five Limbs in Sanskrit. These portions in a day depict the five limbs, which stand for the five sources of energy, both visible and invisible. In order to calculate the precise panchang for a given day, factors like location, time zone, date, and so forth are crucial. Tithi, Yoga, Vara, Nakshatra, and Karana are the five limbs of Panchang.

Continue ReadingThe Hindu Calendar: Your Reference Guide, Panchang

Ekadashi – A Lord Vishnu’s Day

According to Hindu mythology, Ekadashi is the day of Lord Vishnu. Fasting on this day is thought to make all desires come true. The day is also regarded as helpful for spirituality in Jainism. Ekadashi occurs both before and after the new moon on the 11th day of the moon cycle. Sanskrit's word 'ekadasi' means 'eleven'. It is the 11th lunar day of Shukla Paksha and Krishna Paksha according to Hindu calendar. This is a spiritual observance day for both Hindus and Jainists. On this day partial, full, or Nirjala (without water) fasts are observed by devotees. As the

Continue ReadingEkadashi – A Lord Vishnu’s Day

Secrets of Tirupati

The "Spiritual Capital of Andhra Pradesh '' is a term Tirupati is known by. Countless places of worship are located in this temple town. In order to fulfill their religious and spiritual objectives, pilgrims from all over the world come here. Sri Venkateswara Temple, which is situated atop Tirumala Hills, has come to be associated with Tirupati. Seven Hills The seven hill is well-known for housing the temple to the venerated and most sacred Hindu god Venketeswaraswamy.

Continue ReadingSecrets of Tirupati

Ascertaining the Ultimate Truth – Sanatana Dharma

Understanding the genuine essence of "Sanatan Dharma" is quite interesting. If this awareness is formed with faith and conviction, it can help us grasp the many religious systems more clearly and expand our consciousness beyond the boundaries. Sanatana-dharma does not relate to any particular religion. Sanatana-Dharma refers to the living being's eternal vocation. When we speak of Sanatana-Dharma, we must assume that it has neither a beginning nor an end because Sri Ramanujacharya, a renowned Acharya in the tradition of Bhakti-yoga, defined the word sanatana as "that which has no beginning nor end." Sanatan, then, is an eternal concept that transcends all limitations of location, time, nation, caste, race, and creed.....

Continue ReadingAscertaining the Ultimate Truth – Sanatana Dharma

33 crores Devi Devta nahi 33 Koti Devta

The concept of “33 crores Devi Devtas” in Hinduism is a concept that has been widely known to all. Also, this has been a much-debated topic among different scholars. And it has been found that the concept is completely misunderstood by many, as there has been a wrong interpretation of Vedic Sanskrit by some foreign scholars. The Atharva Veda, Yajur Veda, and Satapatha-brahmana define “trayastrimsati koti” as 33 gods. The term “koti” is a Sanskrit word that has two meanings; one is “crore” and second is “type”.

Continue Reading33 crores Devi Devta nahi 33 Koti Devta

Tirupati Balaji Temple: Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanam

One of Hinduism's holiest temples, Tirupathi Tirumala Temple, is situated in the Indian state of Andhra Pradesh's hill town of Tirumala. Lord Vishnu chose this shrine to serve as Vaikuntha, his other heavenly residence. Lord Balaji, an avatar of Lord Vishnu, resides in the temple; as a result, Lord Balaji is also known as Lord Venkateswara, and this temple is more commonly referred to as Sri Venkateswara Swamy Temple. One of the wealthiest Lord Venkateswara temples in the world is Tirupati Balaji. He is regarded as Lord Vishnu's "Kaliyug Avatar," one of the Hindu trinity of Gods. 

Continue ReadingTirupati Balaji Temple: Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanam