33 crores Devi Devta nahi 33 Koti Devta

The concept of “33 crores Devi Devtas” in Hinduism is a concept that has been widely known to all. Also, this has been a much-debated topic among different scholars. And it has been found that the concept is completely misunderstood by many, as there has been a wrong interpretation of Vedic Sanskrit by some foreign scholars. The Atharva Veda, Yajur Veda, and Satapatha-brahmana define “trayastrimsati koti” as 33 gods. The term “koti” is a Sanskrit word that has two meanings; one is “crore” and second is “type”. Hence, it is in their translation that the mistake occurred, and instead of explaining Hinduism in terms of 33 supreme Gods, the concept of 33 crores of Gods came into existence.

Believing the Vedas there are 33 devas and they are classified under the following names:

  • Adityas/Solar deities

These are 12 in number and are personified deities that correspond to the 12 solar months. Each represents different features of social life. On Sankranti, when the sun changes the zodiac signs, these Adityas change their positions. The 12 Adityas along with their relative attribute are:

  1. Shakra/Indra:  It is the eldest and the leader of the other 11 Adityas
  2. Ansh: Due share
  3. Aryaman: nobility
  4. Bhaag: Due inheritance
  5. Dhatri: ritual skill
  6. Tvashtar: crafting skill
  7. Mitra: Friendship
  8. Ravi/Pushan: Prosperity
  9. Parjanya/ Savitra: word power
  10. Vivasan/ Surya: social law
  11. Varun: fate
  12. Vaman: the law of the cosmos

These all are known to be the protectors that guard and maintain the law. These Vedic Gods are believed to be pure and bright which erases darkness and spread light. Being 12 in number, these are also known as Dvadash Adityas.

  • Vasus

These are 8 in number and are known as the sub-deities of Indra. These categorical elemental Gods are representative of different aspects of Nature. And these are:

  1. Dhara/ Prithvi ( Earth)
  2. Anila/ Vayu (Wind)
  3. Anal/Agni (Fire)
  4. Prabhas/Surya (Dawn)
  5. Antariksh/Dyaus (Space)
  6. Apas/ Varuna (Water)
  7. Dhruv/Nakshatra (Pole Star)
  8. Soma/Chandra (Moon)

These are also known as Astha Vasu. The chakra system is related to the seven Vasu, and the eight Vasu Sun is eternal. The followings are the different chakras and the elements they are related with:

  1. Mooladhara/ root chakra: associated with Prithvi/the Earth
  2. Manipura/solar plexus chakra: associated with Agni/ the Fire
  3. Agya, Ajna/ the third eye chakra: associated with Chandra/ the Moon
  4. Swadhisthana/ the sacral chakra: associated with Varuna/ the Water
  5. Sahasrara/ the crown chakra: associated with Nakshatras/ the Stars
  6. Vishuddhi/ the throat chakra: associated with Akasha/ the Sky
  7. Anahata/ the heart chakra: associated with Vayu/ the Wind
  • Rudras

These are 11 in number, which are explained differently by different schools of thought:

One of the prominent schools of thought believes Rudras to consist of:

  • 5 names of shiva:
  • Isana(ruler)
  • Tatpurusa( that person)
  • Vamadeva( Pleasant god)
  • Aghora( not terrible)
  • Sadyojata( born at once)
  • 5 abstractions:
  • Vijnana( knowledge)
  • Prana( life/breath)
  • Ananda( bliss)
  • Vac(speech)
  • Manas( thought)
  • 1 Atma (spiritual self)

According to Brihadaranyaka Upanishad, the 11 Rudras are the ten vital energies or Rudra-Prana, in the body, and the last being the Atma, the soul. The following are the names assigned for Rudra-Prana:

Atha rodayanti



Katame Rudra iti

TasmAdrudra iti(4)

Te yada.asmAchchharlrAnmartyAdutkrAmanty

Rudras have a vital role in the universal work and are the God of Gods, the one that lives in the hearts of gods and other beings. He is the universal lord and is being prayed for moksha (liberation). The Hanuman, Bhairava, Dhumwan, Tara, Baglamukh, Mahakal, Kamal, Chinnamastak, Shodash Srividyesh, and Bala Bhuvanesh, are all Lord Rudras incarnations. The term “Rud” means to weep. The human body constitutes of 10 organs: 5 karmendriyas( motor organs) and 5 gyanendriya( sense organs), with the mind being the 11th. All these in total are Rudra as when they all exit the body, they make people weep. There are some other schools of thought according to which there are 10 pranas and the 11th is the soul.

  • Ashwini

These are 2 in number. These Vedic Gods are known to be the only God’s physicians; they are the ones who blessed the sages with the knowledge of medicine and treatment. Even the Rig Veda mentions the Ashwins as the savior. Different ancient stories narrate them as vaidya, “life restorers”. In modern terms, they are equivalent to a doctor. There are different stories about their existence in ancient times. The Mahabharata times celebrated them as Nakul and Sahadev, the sons of Kunti (mother of Pandavas). These Vedic Gods are also called Nasatya, which means to return home safely.

Yet another story explains their existence as Ashwini Kumara, the sons of Ashwini. According to the story, the partner of Surya could not stand the heat of the Lord and hence took shelter in a forest. And to hide her identity, she started living there as a mare (female horse). She was blessed with twins in the jungle (the Ashwins), the sons of Lord Surya.

The sages or rishis who were considered to be awakened souls transmitted their knowledge to us through their writings. These writings were called Puranas, Vedas, Upanishads, etc. Atharva Veda, Yajur Veda, Sama Veda, and Rig Veda are the four Vedas known to mankind. These are the root of the entire knowledge, wisdom, and logic. These texts constitute everything; from our evolution to the dissolution of the universe to the 33 Vedic Gods, one can know everything by reading the Vedas. They support the presence of 33 koti Gods and Goddesses, which is misinterpreted to be 33 crores Gods in Hinduism by some foreign scholars. So, there are 33 supreme Devi Devtas (11 Adityas+ 11 Rudras+8 Vasus+2 Ashwinis) that people worship and not 33 crores of Gods.

Leave a Reply